3 min read

A wild baby and side-project appear

A wild baby and side-project appear
Photo by Liane Metzler / Unsplash

This week I have a family update, a new side-project and a couple of remote JS jobs for you!

A cute baby

I'm loving being a new dad, it has turned my world upside down for the better. I'm spending a lot of time with Elsa and her mother, just enjoying the moment.

The team at Ghost is covering for me (thanks team ❤️) and gave me the opportunity to spend 12 weeks welcoming my first children. I couldn't be more thankful for their support, and seeing Elsa doing new things every day is filling me with joy (first sounds, new moves...).

A fun side-project

Because I'm an introvert, I need some time by myself to thrive. This side-project brings balance during the parental leave.

After spending a couple of hours a week since May, I'm spending on average 30 minutes per day building this project.

It's an API that generates images from a template and text. This is a great tool to generate Open Graph images that appear on social media when you share a website.

Generate your social media banners automatically

I have two strong beliefs that comes from spending time on this project:

Consistency > Intensity

Shipping small features every couple of days makes me crave for the next side-project session. It also shows externally that it's something I want to maintain and slowly improve on the long run.

Reusing tools > Discovering new tools

Re-using AWS, next.js, prisma2 and express made everything feel smooth to me. The only time I had to dive deep in the docs where when I was hitting weird edge cases. Most of the time I didn't have to get out of VSCode or the AWS console and could progress smoothly.

Remote JavaScript jobs

A couple of remote JS opportunities from people who reached out to me, hopefully it can help someone find their next job! Feel free to share these around.

Product Engineer (Node.js) - Ghost
We’re looking for talented engineers with Node.js experience to join the Ghost product team and work remotely, on Open Source software.
[full-stack] Come work on open source software!
In Search of Magic - We’re Hiring!
We’re creating software for teams who want to create impact. We think the software you use every day to work should be of the highest quality.
[frontend or full-stack] A blazing-fast project-management software startup looking for senior engineers
Notion – The all-in-one workspace for your notes, tasks, wikis, and databases.
A new tool that blends your everyday work apps into one. It’s the all-in-one workspace for you and your team
[frontend] at.cafe is focusing on serving hybrid companies (remote + offices)